The inaugural Mirpuri Foundation Sailing Trophy took place in 2020, between Cascais and Sesimbra, with over 50 boats on the start line and some of the biggest names in offshore sailing taking part.

Organised in partnership with the Clube Naval de Cascais, the health controlled event was the first of its kind as the sailing world took it’s first steps back to the water in the wake of the Covid-19 pandemic. The event counted with a dedicated medical team ensuring all staff and sailors were in good health and free from the virus covid-19.

The Mirpuri Foundation Sailing Trophy was also a plastic-free sustainable regatta and a charitable event, with team registration fees supported by the Mirpuri Foundation and donated to Marine Conservation programs.

The prize pool of over €30,000 included a top prize of €16,000 for the first position. The winner was also awarded the official event trophy.

The Mirpuri Foundation has a legacy in competitive sailing as a global platform to share important messages of marine conservation and encourage positive change to better impact the planet. Through the ‘Turn the Tide on Plastic’ campaign in the 2017-18 edition of The Volvo Ocean Race, the Mirpuri Foundation was part of a global movement against plastic pollution. 



The Mirpuri Foundation Racing Team’s ‘Racing for the Planet’ crew took line honours in both legs.

The Sailing Trophy was the first race outing for Mirpuri Foundation Racing Team, on board Racing for the Planet. The team won the first leg in light wind conditions, reaching Sesimbra one hour before the rival VO65.

In Sunday’s return leg to Cascais, the team continued its pace, leading throughout in tricky upwind conditions to take line honours in a clean sweep of the event, with Green Eyes – Wally 105 and Sisi – The Austrian Ocean Race Project claiming second and third position respectively in the overall real-time classification.

The Mirpuri Foundation Racing Team’s ‘Racing for the Planet’ was crewed by a star lineup of sailors for the team’s first race. Skipper Yoann Richomme’s crew had an accumulated 12 Volvo Ocean Race campaigns between them and included previous winners Charles Caudrelier and Jack Bouttell.


Mirpuri Foundation Sailing Trophy’s website

Mirpuri Foundation Racing Team’s website